Waxahachie DWI Lawyer
Contact Us Today
(972) 923-1899
Contact us today for help:
To reach us call us at
(972) 923-1899 or e-mail us.

Do you need a DWI / DUI Lawyer in Waxahachie, Texas?
(Ellis County, Texas):

Waxahachie DWI Lawyer and DUI Attorney

WARNING: Upon being arrested for a DWI the State of Texas is authorized to automatically suspend your driver's license if you fail to contest the suspension within 15 days after notice is given (normally at the time of your arrest). YOU CAN FIGHT THIS!.

Being arrested for a DWI is a difficult experience. Not only do you face potential loss of your freedom, but a great deal of uncertainty has just entered your life. If you have received a DWI in Waxahachie, Texas and need a criminal defense lawyer to defend your rights, please feel free to contact our office either by phone at (972) 923-1899 or via our Contact Form.

One of the most common crimes a person can find themselves charged with is the crime of DWI. I believe the reason is that it is the one criminal offense in Texas that just about anyone that drinks can find themselves arrested for if they are in the wrong place at the wrong time.

It seems that there has been a major push in law enforcement to ignore the law and follow Texas' public slogan "Drink, Drive, Go to Jail." Of course, this is not all police officers; however, it is being taught to many police officers.

The problem is that "Drink, Drive, Go to Jail" is not the law. Texas law makes it a DWI crime to be intoxicated while driving (not merely drinking and driving).

Granted, if you have an open container while driving then it will likely lead to you standing on the side of the road performing the Standardized Field Sobriety Tests. However, the mere act of taking a drink and getting into a car is not illegal.

Nonetheless, people are arrested for it throughout Texas, and the punishment for a DWI can be harsh. The following are the maximum punishment ranges for a DWI charge in Texas.

1st DWI conviction - 6 months in county jail, plus up to a $2,000 fine;

2nd DWI conviction - 12 months in county jail, plus up to a $4,000 fine; and

3rd DWI or More conviction - 10 years in prison, plus up to a $10,000 fine.

The above does not include the DPS surcharges, fees to obtain an occupational license, and all of the other costs that can be associated with a DWI arrest in Waxahachie.

If you have been arrested for a DWI in Ellis County it is important that you speak with criminal defense lawyer that understands Texas DWI laws, and how the courts operate in Waxahachie, Texas.

Danny Freisner,
Waxahachie DWI Lawyer
(972) 923-1899
Contact Form

Contact Us Today

If you would like to speak with our law firm regarding a legal matter you have, we encourage you to contact us by phone at (972) 923-1899 or send us a message.