Hill County DWI Lawyer
Contact Us Today
(972) 923-1899

Criminal Defense Focus Areas:

  • DWI & DUI Arrests
  • Felony Charges
  • Misdemeanor Charges
  • Drug and Possession Charges
  • Contact Us

 

Contact us today for help:
To reach us call us at
(972) 923-1899 or e-mail us.

Do you need a DWI / DUI Lawyer for a Hill County, Texas arrest?


DWI, DUI, Drunk Driving FAQ

Placeholder Image

WARNING: You have 15 days to request a hearing if you wish to fight for your Texas Driver's License, and try to avoid the suspension. If you do not fight, your driver's license will automatically be suspended from the date you were given notice of the coming suspension, which is normally at the time that you were arrested for Driving While Intoxicated, commonly referred to as being arrested for DWI.

Although a DWI arrest may seem a common offense, it is a criminal charge that needs to be taken seriously. If you have been arrested for a DWI in Hill County, Texas you need to speak with an experienced Texas DWI lawyer, even if you think there is nothing you can do to fight the drunk driving charge.

The criminal penalties for a DWI in Hill County, and throughout Texas, vary depending on the facts and circumstances of each case. However, a first time DWI in Hill County, Texas carries a punishment range of up to 180 days in county jail, plus a fine not to exceed $2,000. Again, this is just for a first time DWI.

If you have a prior DWI conviction then the criminal penalties increase significantly, and in some cases could result in a 25 to Life punishment range.

In addition to the criminal penalties of a DWI arrest, you face non-criminal penalties that range from license suspensions to DPS surcharges that start at $3,000.

Does an arrest for DWI in Hill County, Texas mean you are automatically going to jail if convicted? NO!

Danny Freisner has successfully defended individuals arrested for DWI in Hill County. Of those, the majority of his clients never spend another day in jail after they bonded out of the Hill County Jail. A number of clients have no probation after being represented for a DWI by Danny Freisner.

If you are arrested for a DWI in Hill County, Texas you need to speak with an experienced DWI lawyer as soon as possible,

If you would like to speak with Danny Freisner regarding your DWI arrest in Hill County, he can be contacted directly at (972) 923-1899 or via the contact form.

An arrest for a DWI in Hill County, or elsewhere in Texas, can be an extremely scary event, especially if it is your first time to ever be arrested for a criminal charge.

So what should you do after you are arrested for a DWI in Hill County, Texas?

First, take a deep breath and relax.

Second, contact an experienced DWI attorney within the first few days after the arrest.

The reason you need to act quickly after being arrested for a DWI is that Texas law imposes a 15 day time limit to challenge the suspension of your driver's license. However, the challenge needs to be done properly, and few people that are not very familiar with Driving While Intoxicated charges will not understand how to properly challenge the suspension to obtain the maximum benefit it can provide.

In some cases, the information discovered from challenging the suspension of a license has resulted in the dismissal of the actual DWI charge that would either have not been able to be discovered, or would have been very costly to discovery.

Regardless of whether you think that you were guilty of DWI that you received in Hill County, or you are not concerned if your license is suspended, the 15 day deadline may still be critical to your actual DWI case.

As a result, it is highly recommend that you retain a DWI lawyer to challenge the suspension.

If you have been arrested for a DWI in Hill County, Texas and would like to speak with an experienced DWI attorney in our office, please do not hesitate to contact us.

The charge of DWI is one of the most common arrests the average person might face, and a Driving While Intoxicated charge is a serious matters. It can often be a confusing time, and full of uncertainty. One of the questions that often comes up, especially if someone believes they are guilty of a DWI in Hill County, is should I still hire an attorney?

The short answer is yes!

Even a lawyer knows not to represent themselves, and a first time DWI arrest in Hill County could result in a punishment up to six (6) months in the Hill County Jail, plus a fine not to exceed $2,000.

The Hill County Attorney and District Attorney are charged with enforcing the DWI, and other laws, of the State of Texas. This translates into prosecuting you to the fullest extent of the law based on the facts and circumstances of the case presented to them. As a result, you need an experienced DWI lawyer in your corner.

One of the common questions asked after a DWI arrest in Hill County, Texas is what is going to happen to me. The reality of the situation is no one can promise or guarantee an outcome in any DWI, or any case. You do have the right to be treated with respect and courtesy, and to have the best DWI defense possible.

If you have been arrested for a DWI in Hill County, and you would like to speak with an experienced DWI lawyer, please do not hesitate to contact us today via phone or email.

In most cases, if you have been pulled over for a DWI in Hill County, Texas the most important thing to do is to preserve your right to remain silent; however, most attorneys agree that there is a specific way you should remain silent.

First, it would be advisable to be respectful at all times (remember your DWI arrest is most likely being video taped), plus it's the right thing to do.

Second, you might want to politely explain that you are not a lawyer and you do not understand Texas criminal law well enough to make an informed decision on whether you should perform the Standard Field Sobriety Tests being offered (the same probably goes for a breath or blood), because you understand that the test results are not always accurate, so you would like your attorney present before the Hillsboro police officer or DPS Trooper continues with any test in an attempt to determine what your blood alcohol level might be.

Of note, at this point, the law enforcement officer will probably tell you that you do not have a right to a criminal defense attorney to make the decision on whether to take the DWI tests. Although the officer may be correct, you should be given a properly administered DWI test, so that might be your basis for refusing the test unless a DWI lawyer is present to witness the sobriety tests being given.

Third, you need to contact a DWI lawyer that practices in Hill County immediately.

Remember, the odds of you talking your way out of a DWI arrest in Hill County are slim at best, so it's probably wise not to even try it in the first place.

If you have been arrested for a DWI in Hill County, Texas, please do not hesitate to contact our office.

The short answer is you should immediately speak with a DWI lawyer familiar with Driving While Intoxicated arrests out of Hill County, Texas.

The longer answer is as follows:

DWI (Driving While Intoxicated) arrests are common in Hill County, Texas in two ways for most people that do not live in Hillsboro, or the surrounding cities. First, people traveling down I-35 between Dallas and Austin often encounter DPS Troopers looking for criminal activity ranging from drunk driving to drug runners. Second, many people travel each year to Lake Whitney and are either arrested on the lake for BWI "Boating While Intoxicated" or when driving home after a day at the lake.

Regardless of how, or where, the DWI charge came from, the fact remains that it is a serious offense that carries penalties both on a criminal and civil level.

Most people arrested for a DWI in Hill County understand that criminal penalties are associated with an arrest, but few understand the civil penalties that attach.

For example, an arrest for DWI in Hill County, or elsewhere in Texas, automatically triggers DPS with the authority to suspend your driver's license. This can be fought and could result in your DWI case being dismissed if evidence favorable to you is discovered. Of note, you have a limited time for your DWI lawyer to request a contested suspension hearing (15 days to be exact), and if the deadline is missed then your license will automatically be suspended.

This is just one example of the nuances of a DWI arrest in Texas, and due to the highly technical nature of a Driving While Intoxicated charges, it is advisable to speak with an attorney experienced with Hill County DWI arrests and procedures as soon as possible after arrest.

If you have been arrested for a DWI in Hill County, Texas, and would like to speak with a criminal defense attorney experienced with the Hill County justice system, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Contact Us Today

If you would like to speak with our law firm regarding a legal matter you have, we encourage you to contact us by phone at (972) 923-1899 or send us a message.